Two Sinn Fein chairs

Two Sinn Fein chairs

9 June 2021

SINN Fein councillors Roísín Howell and Oonagh Hanlon have welcomed their appointment to head up two of Newry, Mourne and Down Council’s most influential committees.

Cllr Howell — who represents the Slieve Croob area — is the new chairwoman of the Enterprise, Regeneration and Tourism Committee while Cllr Hanlon, who represents the Downpatrick DEA, will head up the powerful Strategy, Policy and Resources Committee.

Cllr Howell said it was a “privilege” to be selected by her party to head up the ERT committee. 

“We are emerging from the impact of Covid-19 has had on our district,” she continued.

“This committee will be critical in ensuring the best outcomes for residents in Newry Mourne an Down recovering from the economic impact of the past year.”

Cllr Hanlon said she is “honoured” that her party selected her to chair the SP&R Committee.

“This committee sets the strategic direction and decisions of council which will be so important as we adjust to the ‘new normal’ of life with Covid 19 and I look forward to a busy year ahead,” she said.

Cllrs Howell and Hanlon also congratulated their council colleagues Karen McKevitt (SDLP) and Kathryn Owen (Independent Unionist) who will chair the local authority’s Active Healthy Communities and Neighbourhood Services committees respectively.

“I hope young women are encouraged by us ladies taking important positions especially as we have Cathy Mason 

and Oonagh Magennis leading from the front in their roles as council chairwoman and vice-chairwoman,” said Cllr Howell.

Cll Hanlon added: “It is fantastic to see all four committees chaired by females this year and women leading Newry, Mourne and Down Council.”