Depleted Darragh stung by Liatroim

Depleted Darragh stung by Liatroim

6 September 2017

CONOR McCrickard came off the bench to put Darragh’s semi-final hopes to bed at Pairc Tomas Ruiseil on Saturday afternoon when he netted a goal and a point in added time.

Liatroim were hanging on to a 0-9 to 0-6 lead going into the last few minutes with Darragh knocking at the door in a bid to get back on level terms.

Young McCrickard had ideas of his own and split the posts from play before netting with the last kick of the game to finally kill off a stubborn Darragh side.

It all started so well for Darragh with Jarleth Flynn pointing his side ahead in the first minute. Darren O’Higgins levelled matters before points from Rory Miskelly (45), Lee Morrison and Callum Murray edged Darragh into a 0-4 to 0-1 lead by the 23rd minute of a low scoring affair.

Darragh had the wind in their backs in the first half, but their wides started to mount up and points from Miceal McCartan, Pearse Og McCrickard and Robbie O’Hare turned the game on its head as Liatroim went in at the break with a 0-5 to 0-4 lead.

Michael Monan and P J Davidson swapped points at the start of the second half before Paddy Branney brought the sides level yet again. 

However, it was Liatroim who had their tails up and up and they bolted for home with points from O’Hare and Pearse Og McCrickard (0-2) to take a 0-9 to 0-6 lead as the game entered the final furlong.

Darragh pressed and pressed for an equalising score, but Liatroim sent on young gun McCrickard and he answered the call with two mighty scores to secure his side’s progression into the semi-finals.

Liatroim: D Burns, J Moorehead, C Doyle, S Og O’Rourke, Darren O’Higgins (0-1), M McCartan (0-1), C Moorehead, O Clarke, Donough O’Higgins, W McCartan, O McManus, G McAnulty, R O’Hare (0-3), P J Davidson (0-1), P Og McCrickard (0-3). Subs: L Middleton for Clarke, C McCrickard (1-1) for McManus, C Regan for Donough O’Higgins, A O’Prey for Davidson, S O’Higgins for O’Rourke (blood sub), D O’Rourke for McCartan.  

Darragh Cross: R Miskelly (0-1), C Morgan, O McConvey, J Hardy, M Boyle, J Murray, P Branney (0-1), S Dineen, M Hardy, M Monan, C Murray (0-1), M McMahon, J Flynn (0-1), S Brannigan, L Morrison (0-2). Subs: D Carney for Flynn, R McKeown for Morgan.   

Liatroim 1-10

Darragh Cross 0-6