De La Salle’s cup exploits are rousing

De La Salle’s cup exploits are rousing

8 May 2019

DE La Salle left it ever so late before winning the Danske Bank Ulster Schools’ Nagle Cup for the first time at St Genevieve’s, Belfast, on Friday morning.

Late points from ‘keeper turned poacher Daibhi Ennis and James McConkey killed off St Patrick’s, Dungannon, in an entertaining showdown that went to the wire.

The strong finish from Downpatrick owed a little to the aid of the stiff breeze during the second half as much as big performances from captain Kyle Broggy, Riain Burns, Ennis and Adam O’Dwyer. But it was a goal direct from a 40m free from James Crangle five minutes from the end that put the Lecale side in the lead for the first time since midway through the first half and ultimately took them over the line.

Against the breeze, goals in the 12th and 13th minutes from Ennis and Eoin Kelly put De La Salle into a 2-1 to 0-1 lead, but they then failed to score until the third minute of the second half as Dungannon stepped up a level.

Goals from Ryan McIntosh and Bonamor Nammy, coupled with a brilliant save by Dinaras Zairys from a Harry Obank penalty, put Dungannon in charge at the break on a 2-7 to 2-1 scoreline with Jose Pereira, Jake Dillon and McIntosh in excellent form.

Despite playing against the breeze during the second half, the Tyrone side were able to hit back in turn after goals for Riain Burns and James Crangle with strikes from Anderson Lobato and Bonamor Nammy to keep Downpatrick at arm’s length until that fortunate late Crangle goal that edged the winners a point ahead.

Jake Dillon hit back to equalise, but Ennis and  then McConkey fired over in an exciting finish.

De La Salle: A McAvoy, A O’ Dwyer, K Broggy (capt), N Kelly, C Cullen, B McKenna, R Burns (1-2), J Crangle (2-3, 1-3 frees), J McConkey (0-1), H Obank, L Ward, P Shearer, E Kelly (1-1), D Ennis (1-2), D O’Shea (0-1). Sub: C Vaughan for C Cullen.

St Patrick’s: D Zairys, J Field, P McGuinness, C McGahan, J Pereira, A Lobato (1-0), K Ximenes (0-1), C Hughes, R McIntosh (1-2), S Boyle (0-3), P Purvis (0-1), D McCann, R McAshea, B Nammy (2-0), J Dillon (0-4, 0-3 frees).

De La Salle Downpatrick 5-10

St Patrick’s Dungannon 4-11